Eadaoin Harney | Ancient DNA sheds light on the mysterious skeletons of Roopkund Lake

Eadaoin Harney | Ancient DNA sheds light on the mysterious skeletons of Roopkund Lake

   ,
  9 - 10:30 a.m.
   Zoom (Off Campus)
Eadaoin Harney, Priya Moorjani

A talk by Eadaoin Harney, a Postdoctoral Researcher at 23andMe on the Ancestry Research team
_________________

DATE: Monday, March 8, 2021

TIME: 9am Berkeley | 12 noon New York | 5pm London | 10pm Lahore | 10:30pm Delhi | Calculate Your Local Time

REGISTER ONLINE

This event will also be live streamed on the Institute's FB page: ISASatUCBerkeley
_________________

About the Speaker
Eadaoin Harney completed her PhD in Organismic and Evolutionary Biology at Harvard University in the Spring of 2020. She was advised by David Reich and John Wakeley, and supported by a fellowship from the Max Planck - Harvard Research Center for the Archaeoscience of the Ancient Mediterranean. Prior to starting her PhD, she worked as an ancient DNA technician in the Reich Lab for two years. In 2013, she received an M.Phil. in Human Evolutionary Studies from the University of Cambridge, advised by Toomas Kivisild. In 2012, she received a BA in Biochemistry, with a minor in Anthropology, from Vassar College, where she was advised by Jodi Schwarz.

Dr. Harney is broadly interested in using ancient DNA to learn about the human past. Her PhD research focused on: 1) Using ancient DNA to try to understand the population history of individuals found at distinct archaeological sites, 2) Developing minimally destructive techniques for extracting ancient DNA from skeletal remains, and 3) Using simulations to test the performance of existing population genetic tools.

Dr. Harney is currently a Postdoctoral Researcher at 23andMe on the Ancestry Research team.
_________________

Like us on FACEBOOK
Follow us on TWITTER

The event is FREE and OPEN to the public.