Bangladesh at 50: The Transformation of Culture

Bangladesh at 50: The Transformation of Culture

   ,
  8 - 9:30 a.m.
   Zoom Event (Off Campus)
Habibul Khondker, Tausif Noor, Anis Rahman, Lotte Hoek, Seuty Sabur, Dina M Siddiqi, Ali Riaz, Sanchita B. Saxena

To mark and celebrate the 50th anniversary of Bangladesh's independence, the Subir and Malini Chowdhury Center for Bangladesh Studies at UC Berkeley and the American Institute of Bangladesh Studies invite you for a panel discussion on the culture of Bangladesh. In the past five decades social and cultural changes have reshaped the social milieu of Bangladesh. Panelists explore the changes in social, art, cinema and media landscapes.

Speakers include:
Habibul Khondker, Professor of Social Sciences, Zayed University, Abu Dhabi
Anis Rahman, Assistant Teaching Professor in technology and global media stream in the Department of Communication at the University of Washington, Seattle.
Seuty Sabur, Associate Professor, Department of Economics and Social Sciences,
BRAC University.
Lotte Hoek, Senior Lecturer, Social Anthropology, School of Social and Political Science, University of Edinburgh
Tausif Noor, Ph.D. Student, Art History, UC Berkeley
_________________

DATE: Thursday, April 29, 2021

TIME: 8 am (Berkeley) | 3 pm (London) | 8 pm (Pakistan) | 8:30 pm (India) | 9 pm (Bangladesh) | Calculate Your Local Time

REGISTER ONLINE

This event will also be live streamed on the Center's FB page: ChowdhuryCenter
_________________

Like us on FACEBOOK

The event is FREE and OPEN to the public.