Bangladesh at 50: Achievements and Challenges of Bangladesh's Economy

Bangladesh at 50: Achievements and Challenges of Bangladesh's Economy

   ,
  8 - 9:30 a.m.
   Zoom Event (Off Campus)
Fahmida Khatun, Mushfiq Mobarak, Hossain Zillur Rahman, Farida Khan, Anu Muhammad, Ali Riaz, Sanchita B. Saxena

To mark and celebrate the 50th anniversary of Bangladesh's independence, the Subir and Malini Chowdhury Center for Bangladesh Studies at UC Berkeley and the American Institute of Bangladesh Studies invite you for a panel discussion on the economic transformations of the last 50 years and the challenges that lie ahead.

Bangladeshi economy has experienced significant transformation since independence. The panel explores the nature of these changes, their implications and future trajectories.

Panelists:
Fahmida Khatun, Executive Director of the Centre for Policy Dialogue, Dhaka.
Mushfiq Mobarak, Professor of Economics, Yale University.
Hossain Zillur Rahman, Economist and social thinker.
Anu Muhammad, Professor of Economics, Jahangirnagar University.

Moderator:
Farida Khan, Professor, Chair Department of Economics, University of Colorado, Colorado Springs.

_________________

DATE: Monday, March 29, 2021

TIME: 8 am (Berkeley) | 3 pm (London) | 8 pm (Pakistan) | 8:30 pm (India) | 9 pm (Bangladesh) | Calculate Your Local Time

REGISTER ONLINE

This event will also be live streamed on the Center's FB page: ChowdhuryCenter
_________________

Like us on FACEBOOK

The event is FREE and OPEN to the public.