Ayesha Mahmud | Understanding the dynamics of infectious diseases in Bangladesh

Ayesha Mahmud | Understanding the dynamics of infectious diseases in Bangladesh

   ,
  9 - 10:30 a.m.
   Zoom Event (Off Campus)
Ayesha Mahmud, Jade Benjamin-Chung, Sanchita Banerjee Saxena

The Subir and Malini Chowdhury Center for Bangladesh Studies invites you for a talk by Assistant Professor of Demography at UC Berkeley, Dr. Ayesha Mahmud.
_________________

DATE: Thursday, March 11, 2021

TIME: 9 am (Berkeley) | 5 pm (London) | 10 pm (Pakistan) | 10:30 pm (India & Nepal) | 11 pm (Bangladesh) | Calculate Your Local Time

REGISTER ONLINE

This event will also be live streamed on the Center's FB page: ChowdhuryCenter
_________________

Speaker Bio
Assistant Professor of Demographics at UC Berkeley, Dr. Ayesha Mahmud is a demographer, and is broadly interested in the interplay between human population changes, environmental factors, and infectious disease dynamics. Her research draws on theory and methods from demography and disease ecology, to answer questions such as - why do outbreaks occur at certain times of the year? How and why does the mortality burden of infectious diseases vary over time? How do population travel patterns drive the spatial dynamics of outbreaks? How will global environmental and demographic changes alter the landscape of infectious disease burden in the future? She uses statistical methods and biologically mechanistic models to answer these questions in the context of multiple diseases in countries in Asia, Africa, and Central America, using data from disease surveillance systems, hospital databases, climate models, human mobility data, and population surveys and censuses.

Prior to coming to Berkeley, Dr. Mahmud was a Rockefeller Foundation Planetary Health Fellow at Harvard University. She received her Ph.D. in Demography from Princeton University in 2017.
_________________

Like us on FACEBOOK

The event is FREE and OPEN to the public.